Archive

Archive for June 8, 2011

Bartender Chapter 53 – Cocktail Competition (Part 2)

June 8, 2011 5 comments

Links:

MediaFire

MangaFox

OtakuComplex

Drink of the Day:

Martini with Ice

  • 45 ml Gin
  • 15 ml Vermouth
  • Ice

Thoughts (Spoiler Alert):

The cocktail competition comes to a conclusion, and Kanagi is the winner. I think this is the expected outcome of the competition. Kanagi was obviously more skilled, so it made sense for her to perform at a higher level than Kyouko. But Kyouko also had her moment. Although she gave up any chances of winning the competition, her drink probably tasted better to the judges than Kanagi’s. She really learned her lesson well, and did not try to simply copy what Minami-san would’ve done. Instead, she tried her best to come up with a solution that she thinks is best for her customers.

We also saw that the manga is about to take a turn. Sasakura will be going to Hotel Bishop as a bartender. It hasn’t been finalized in the manga, but Sasakura’s been at Eden Hall for quite some time now, and it seems like a good time for him to move on. Here’s a spoiler, but he won’t be leaving Eden Hall just yet, but he will be soon. I actually don’t like the Eden Hall arc very much, so I wasn’t sad to see him leave at all. I really like his next destination though. I hope everyone will enjoy the next story arc (when I get there… hahaha).

Personally, I’m not too sure what the last bit of conversation between Sasakura and Miwa meant. I don’t really know what Miwa is trying to ask; although, I think the point of it all is that there are some special types of service which are only made for frequent customers. I’m just not 100% sure on why these services cannot be given to new customers. I mean, if a customer asks for a certain type of drink, I don’t see the problem with complying with their request. Maybe it’s because those types of services are more time consuming and troublesome, but the same could be said for many cocktails Sasakura made thus far. I mean, he even went to someone else’s bar to get ingredients just to make a cocktail (e.g. Bullshot).

Categories: Bartender