Home > Liar Game > Liar Game Chapter 93 – Differentiate

Liar Game Chapter 93 – Differentiate

I’m back from Thanksgiving break, and here’s chapter 93!  This chapter is by far the hardest one to translate yet, so please forgive me if the translation is a bit off.

Links:

MangaHelpers

OneManga

MangaFox

MangaHut

My Thoughts (spoiler alert):

In this chapter, Akiyama goes into details on how to performed his magic trick.  I’m quite skeptical of the method Akiyama chose to use.  For one, his explanation of a fake circuit board is quite risky.  There’s no guarantee that the other players have minimal knowledge on the subject.  What if one of the players is actually an EE major or something?  I guess he CAN still go through with his plan even if someone debunks his fake circuit explanation, but he would have a lot less credibility.  There’s also a chance that someone will see through his magic trick.  It’s true that if someone exposes this trick, he can use others, but once the first is seen as magic, the players will also have doubts about the tricks he pulls next.

All in all, the method Akiyama chose is too risky.  On the bright side, at least things aren’t very complicated, so it’s easier for me to catch on to what’s going on.

Categories: Liar Game
  1. Ikirtar
    December 2, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    So happy you are back XD.
    I already read the chapter ^^. Well seemedlike a fake from the beginning, well, I wouldn’t have liked it if it weren’t.
    But the real question is : “If someone finds out akiyama’s trick, what should he/she do ?” Is it really better to expose akiyama’s scheme ? Or perhaps it is just that they are all just sheeps :p

    • December 10, 2009 at 4:11 pm

      If I found out he was lying, I probably wouldn’t expose him right away, since I don’t want to draw attention to myself, but I wouldn’t volunteer to try it either. hahaha

  2. Angela
    December 2, 2009 at 3:57 pm

    I hate cliffhangers 😦
    I love that you’re back though!

  3. Neckbreaker
    December 2, 2009 at 4:02 pm

    Thankyou, for continuing to translate this seris. keep up the good work.

    P.s. I think that Akiyama chose to do this even at the risk of exposure, because this is how the game is played; sometimes you have to convince people to help themselves.

    A good chapter.

  4. Laura
    December 2, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    Wow, no wonder this chapter was hard to translate; all this technical stuff made me confused 😛

    Anyways, thanks for your hard work! 😀

    • December 10, 2009 at 4:12 pm

      Luckily all those technical jargon ended up being pointless. So I wasn’t too worried about screwing up XD

  5. HikaruYami
    December 2, 2009 at 4:52 pm

    The problem I have with this game is that it’s too easily solvable to the audience. Because of the existence of “rounds”, and Akiyama and Nao’s knowledge of one “infected”, Akiyama can simply sweep the game, as follows:

    “Watch. Nao and I will make contact with each other, then I will contact this “infected”. No other contact should be made among any of you until the end of the round. You do not have to believe us yet, but at the end of the round, if there is only one “infected” remaining, you will know that we were telling the truth. Nao, who will still have a vaccine left, will then contact everyone one by one, guaranteeing that there are no remaining infected players. Everyone will the be free to contact each other.”

    In other words, it’s a quickly solvable game as long as they avoid panic and make people have patience into the 3rd and final round of game =.=”

    • December 10, 2009 at 4:13 pm

      That’s true. But that’s what Yokoya’s for. He’s the X-factor that will possibly mess with Akiyama’s plans.

  6. HikaruYami
    December 2, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    In other words, assuming Akagi isn’t lying, this round doesn’t even need to demonstrate “bonds of trust” and “alliances” to make Nao’s point. At least not with anyone new.

  7. Esther
    December 2, 2009 at 8:31 pm

    I’m pretty sure Nao is the only one to fully accept the ‘circuit board’ explanation. But that doesn’t really matter. Magic tricks usually have some kind of fake ‘explanation’ you just KNOW can’t be true……. but you can’t figure out how else it could be done. Having everyone ask themselves ‘How does it really work?’ means they completely skip over the question of ‘how does he know who is infected?’.

    THEN – once everybody is caught up in the trick. Akagi can figure out who is infected from their reactions.

  8. December 2, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    Thank You for your relaese. In case you need links (for online read) of your chapter on our site just email me

    ninja.mangahut@gmail.com

    here is the link of your latest chapter: MangaHut.Com

    more power.

    • December 10, 2009 at 4:15 pm

      Sorry I haven’t been putting this series on MangaHut myself. But I was having some trouble with uploading, and I’m too lazy to get things working properly. lol. Oh, and thanks for the link 🙂

  9. juntaru
    December 3, 2009 at 12:21 am

    Can’t wait for the next chapter !

    Keep on the good work, it’s fantastic 🙂

  10. borabora
    December 3, 2009 at 6:37 am

    Sankyuuuuuu~~~~ you’re awesome

  11. Irankoa
    December 3, 2009 at 9:30 am

    Thank you so much 🙂 I’m glad you come back so quickly 🙂 Finally some pairing moment between Nao and Akiyama – it was sweet 😉 Akiyama trick – I want next chapter ^^- the translation is sooo good :*

  12. Raysen_ht
    December 3, 2009 at 10:20 am

    Amazing job man!!

    So glad to see you back! Dont worry about the translation, it was awesome!

    I agree that Akiyama took some chances with this trick, but sometimes its unavoidable… he had to do something to make people believe in him…

    What i cant wait, is to see how Yokoya will screw his plan up.

  13. Carrie
    December 3, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    I just want to comment on your comment on Akiyama’s risk of bluffing about the circuit board.

    I know that in these cases where your whole life is literally on the line, people would resort to believing anything that would help them. So I’m not surprised that people wouldn’t quickly question his plan. More so, since WE aren’t placed in the Liar Game, we are more calm and collected to think this through and see the bluff from the first go.

    My guess would be that somewhere near the middle or perhaps in the next couple of chatpers his plan will be seen through but only after he has completed his plan.

    • December 10, 2009 at 4:22 pm

      Yeah, it is definitely difficult to speculate what goes through the other contestants’ minds. The chance to either become a millionaire or bankrupt isn’t something that happens everyday.

      But even if most players are nervous and can’t really think straight, I still think it’s a bit riskier than what Akiyama is capable of. Just my opinion on it. hahaha

  14. Aexis
    December 10, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    what you said makes sense however
    nothing can be perfect. There is at
    least one flaw on everything, and you
    could say that was author’s flaw in this manga.

    Although, I do not see that this is a
    flaw. Take some analysis about Akiyama.
    We know that this guy is a genius, incredibly genuine in other words. On top of it this guy can read people through their actions and etc. Plus, this is the guy who takes few steps ahead. It is quite possible that this guy can figure out “what type” of guys
    that he is playing with.

    • December 10, 2009 at 4:26 pm

      Yea, that’s true. He probably saw through each player and determined what most of them are capable of. But you never know with “knowledge”. Although there are stereotypes for people who are in certain professions, it is hard to figure out exactly who “knows” what.

      Like you, I don’t see this as a flaw in the manga. It could so happen that the author chose a method that is “not so perfect” for whatever reason.

  15. December 11, 2009 at 12:22 am

    I think I might understand the joke about the circuit.

    First off, “Kushishisutofu Ushirisuki” looks like it might have been intended as a Russian (or mock-Russian) name – “Kusisistov Usilisky” or something like that.

    Second off, I can’t find anything to back it up, but “Oshirifuki” looks like it might have been お尻吹き – which suggests “farting” to me.

    If you redo this chapter, I suggest changing Nao’s line to a suitable English-language play off the circuit…or change the circuit’s name to match the pun.

    Akiyama: “It probably uses the Farthing Circuit.”
    Nao: “Farting Circuit?”
    Akiyama: “Farthing Circuit. It was designed by Professor Kristoph Farthing…”

    I know you’re probably not a big fan of “Woolseyisms”, but if confronted with a joke in need of translation, I’d rather fudge it than leave it as-is. (You get paid better in Persona 4 if you do that, anyway. XD)

    • December 11, 2009 at 4:53 pm

      I think a big part of some mangas is the puns (e.g. Yakitate! Japan), but thankfully there isn’t much of that here, so hopefully I won’t have my hands full trying to figure out these jokes. hahaha

      • December 11, 2009 at 6:41 pm

        Punnery is a one-way ticket to tears. Either you translate it directly and kill the joke, or invent a new joke and risk the wrath of your fans. ^_^;

  16. Ruri
    April 14, 2010 at 10:47 am

    He mentions the professor right before hand, “Kushishisutofu Ushirisuki”, and then refers to it as the Ushirisuki circuit. If I had to guess this was an attempt at calling it Ushirisuki’s circuit and that Nao misheard it as Oshirifuki circuit. A google of the term Oshirifuki returns massive amounts of baby wipes. I think the joke should be obvious in that light.

  17. December 27, 2012 at 6:40 am

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a article writer for your blog. You have some really great articles and I feel I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to write some material for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.

    Please shoot me an email if interested. Cheers!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment