Home > Bartender > Bartender Glass 141 – Treasures of the Bar – Treasure of Creation

Bartender Glass 141 – Treasures of the Bar – Treasure of Creation

002

Links:

MediaFire

Drinks of the Day:

Kashisu Uron

  • 45 ml Crème de Cassis
  • Fill with Oolong Tea

Thoughts (Spoiler Alert):

The thing that stood out the most to me in this chapter is what the foreman said about using good material.  “In construction we always say, if you use good material to boast your talents, it only proves your own lack of skills”.  I don’t know anything about construction, but this statement just seems so wrong to me.  I would think a construction worker should strive to use the best available material all the time.  I wouldn’t want a construction team that would rather use inferior material just to show that they have good “skills”.  If it takes good material to make a structure stable and strong, then by all means, go for it.  You only hear complaints about how construction companies use cheap material to make more money or how they cut corners.

The whole “mother goose” thing was fishy from the start.  Why would mother goose have anything to say about what “bar treasures” are?  I think it’s pretty funny how Wakui took so long to find out that there’s really no such thing as “bar treasures”.

Categories: Bartender
  1. tek
    April 12, 2016 at 1:36 pm

    Thanks!!!! 🙂

  2. Josh
    April 14, 2016 at 8:10 am

    always happy to see a new one

  3. Ben
    April 14, 2016 at 9:01 am

    I don’t think the foreman means that he will be using bad materials rather than good ones, I think he’s talking about if, for example, he were to only use Italian marble for all his floors then all his floors would look ‘great’ – perhaps his skill in placing them is lacking but the showiness of the material might hide bad workmanship.

    I’m a bartender, and you can make a great old fashioned with an awesome whisky and everybody will think that it’s the whisky and not you who made the drink good. If you can make an awesome old fashioned with a terrible whisky then everybody is more able to appreciate that the bartender is what made the difference.

    Bartenders also try to use the best ingredients they can, as does everybody in what their field might be but it might cost one hundred dollars to make an old fashioned and then you can only serve it to one guest in a thousand. I think the point is that Sasakura had available to him at the house many fine ingredients, and the foreman would enjoy a drink made with any of those things. However, if the foreman cant afford to drink any of those things then it’s meaningless to serve it to him as a bartender when his job is to include people and make them comfortable.

    It’d be like giving Prada to a homeless person.

    Thanks for translating this by the way. I’ve been following this for years. I went to Tokyo last year and Bar Lupin in Ginza. Also met the bartender that the manga is based off. Your translations of this have given me joy at the strangest times, and without it I wouldn’t be anywhere near the bartender I am today. I’ll be grateful forever, honestly.

    • April 16, 2016 at 12:48 pm

      wow, my thoughts exactly on using the best material you have on hand. You don’t do it so you can look good, you do it because you want to do a good job, no matter what materials you use.

      And double wow for the comments as a bartender! Gosh, I’m so happy you got to go to Tokyo and Bar Lupin! (‘cuz then you can tell us all about it as you do here).

    • daleech
      May 7, 2016 at 8:00 am

      who is the bartender that the manga is based off?

  4. April 16, 2016 at 12:50 pm

    Thank you so much for this new chapter. And as usual, your comments are really interesting and make it interesting to read the new chapter. Thank you for all the hard work you do to bring us this lovely and wonderful manga.

  5. April 16, 2016 at 11:42 pm

    I feel that i have done this before; a long time ago, and i was probably pretty drunk, but i feel i have come her before to unleash my words of favor on to you guys. Either way, if i had or not i am going to do so now.

    I wish to give you guys my most heartfelt, and truly grateful “thank you” for your continued work and support for the manga “Bartender”. I know i could just as easily write this letter to the mangaka, but seeing how i can’t speak nor write in Japanese (even though i currently live in Japan) saying the words that i need to say would prove troublesome and problematic in a tongue that is not my own.

    I’ve been reading Bartender for about…………oh god, going on nearly 6 years. Sweet Jesus, that sudden realization made me old, tired, and weak. And even then it’s actually closer to 7 year, considering i stopped reading manga for about a year getting ready to move to Japan.

    I digress.

    Lately, things haven’t been going well, i’ll save you the details, they are trivial and would seem not real problems from the eyes of an outsider, but I have taken up reading manga again; mostly to feel like i am moving forward from my life.

    Which is considerably odd when at the time i was reading manga heavily 8 years ago i was doing so to escape from the pressures of my job at the time. But i have returned to manga just to reline my panicking mind as my dream of working and living in Japan grows closer and closer to dying each day that passes.

    I found an old list of manga i was reading over a year ago on my computer, the list was filled with titles, the authors name, even the chapter number I had last read of each manga. Nostalgia filled me as i went down the alphabetized (yeah, i even went as far as to put them in order by title) and saw: “Bartender, Araki Joh- chp 87”; i though, “Oh yeah, i remember that one, i really liked it.”

    Two days ago i picked up where i left off on Bartender (after having read the previous 87 chapters, because i had forgotten nearly everything) and now i can’t stop reading it in my down time. And it’s just not the story or the characters, but it’s the translation and the word choices you guys make, that has me swoon nearly at the end of each chapter. I am relearning old lessons i forgot having re-read your guys’s wonderful work on this manga. It has reinvigorated me to try even hard to find a job here in Japan.

    I want to thank you guys for the wonderful work you put into these chapters. For an old man like me, i actually feel like i might be able to restart my life again.

    Sincerely,

    Joel

  6. EdIV
    May 13, 2016 at 7:01 am

    Thank you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

