Home > Bartender > Bartender Glass 122 – Sauv Qui Peut

Bartender Glass 122 – Sauv Qui Peut

002

Happy new years! Hope everyone had a great holiday season, got lots of awesome gifts, and are well-rested to start the new year.

Links:

MediaFire

MangaHere

Drinks of the Day:

Sapporo

  • 30 ml Vodka
  • 30 ml Amaretto
  • 15 ml Dry Vermouth
  • 15 ml Chartreuse Verte
  • Garnish with Green Cherry or Lemon Peel

Thoughts (Spoiler Alert):

In this chapter, we get to see the rare scene where another bartender helps Sasakura in a pinch. I think it’s good to have chapters like these to show us that Sasakura is human too, and it took trials and tribulations before he became (and continue to be) a good bartender.  I also like it when the manga shows other bartenders as being competent.  Although… now that I think about it, I feel like there are too many good bartenders in this manga.  They rarely show bad or evil bartenders who doesn’t care about the customers.  I suppose the focus of this manga is to be laid back and give different perspectives on life, but it would’ve been cool to have a chapter or two where Sasakura have to expose a bad bartender.

I’m normally all for comic reliefs, and I do think one is necessary in this chapter, but I really don’t like that old geezer who’s just spewing nonsense. I know he’s supposed to be drunk, and he’s just making connections to relationships because he just got dumped, but I just find him annoying, not funny.  Another reason I don’t like him is what he said at the very beginning of the chapter.  “Hear me out, I’ve only cheated once, and she wants to break up with me!”  That just shows the inequality between men and women in Japan.  It’s okay for men to cheat, but not okay for women to do it.  It just irritates me that he actually believes the person he cheated on should continue to go out with him, and even labeling her as “heartless” when she doesn’t want anything to do with him anymore.

Categories: Bartender
  1. January 7, 2015 at 12:19 pm

    thanks so much for this chapter! I especially enjoy reading your comments about the chapters you release. When I read this chapter, it seemed like that annoying drunk was not just a comic relief. The bartender was telling Sasakura that you can’t run away, which I took to mean he was also saying that the bartender has to stay even if there’s stupid and annoying customers. And that annoying drunk sure was saying stupid sh*t about women, wasn’t he? I didn’t take Sasakura’s silence (and the bartender’s silence) towards the drunk as tacit approval or acceptance of what he was saying. Rather, I felt it was more like they were treating him with silent contempt – after all, you really cannot argue with a drunk. And Sasakura’s comments about reflecting on his choices and realizing he’d made mistakes could be seen as a dig at the drunk to reflect on his stupid behaviour towards women. Practically everything said in this chapter seemed to have double meanings, which made it fun to read.

    • January 7, 2015 at 12:24 pm

      Forgot to say that the mindset of “I’ve only cheated once! Geez, what’s the problem?” is found all over, not just in Japan. I’ve heard if from men in the UK, in the US, from Australians, from South Pacific Islanders, from Germans, from the French. (okay, so I’ve traveled around a bit). And I’ve heard this sentiment from a few women, as well. It’s the mindset of a self-absorbed arse, no matter what gender. I did so want to smack that drunk in this story. Just shove him off his barstool, haha.

  2. Muffinman
    January 7, 2015 at 4:54 pm

    Hi. Thank you so much for the new chapter. I have been a long time reader of Bartener but never got around to thank the scanlator. So, my biggest thanks to you!
    As for the drunk guy…I think his point in the story was to show that it takes time and experience to appreciate the lesson of “sauve qui peut”. While it took Ryuu 6 years living in pain and agony to figure out the meaning, the other guest does not get the meaning of Yamazaki-san’s words right now. He obviously cannot relate to the pain that Ryuu has but tries to bypass his inexperience by the comparison to his own relationship problems. So maybe he is lacking Ryuu’s experiences, but I think he still means well when he tries to cheer him up in the end instead of only talking about his own problems as in the beginning. He is kind of a mirror of Ryuu’s inexperienced past self 6 years ago, that was “cocky and inmature” by his own admission. Maybe. time will also make the drunk guy into a more emphatic being.

  3. rennov
    January 8, 2015 at 2:37 pm

    Awesome chapter… implicitly tells you that “A great sailor born from a great storm”. Thank you for the hard work

  4. January 9, 2015 at 8:59 am

    Thanks for the insightful replies, everyone. Made me re-think what this whole chapter is about 🙂

  5. kazz
    January 12, 2015 at 8:33 am

    thanks for translating this. i just found out about this manga went randomly scrolling on batoto, its internesting manga and the translation note is very helpfull, i was wondering if you will translate Sommelière by the same author?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

