Home > Bartender > Bartender Glass 97 – The Odd Service

Bartender Glass 97 – The Odd Service

001

Links:

MediaFire

MangaHere

Drink of the Day:

Gin Rickey

  • Lime
  • 45 ml Gin
  • Fill up with Soda Water
  • Mixing Stick

Thoughts (Spoiler Alert):

Another old character makes an appearance.  The bar hopper is back, and he’s giving Wakui a chance to prove himself.  Wakui wanted to impress, and nearly failed miserably, but it was definitely an experience he needed to get.  What I don’t quite understand is the lack of communication between Sasakura and his apprentice.  I understand that many masters doesn’t like to teach their students how to do things; instead, they want the students to “steal” the techniques so they can make it their own.  However, I don’t see much benefits in keeping Wakui in the dark about why he is simply told to do nothing/keep out of his way.  I suppose it might be futile to explain, since Wakui would disagree and would want to prove himself even more.  I just feel like if Wakui is so discontent that he’s ready to resign, wouldn’t Sasakura notice this?  Or does he believe that if this apprentice doesn’t even have the patience to wait a month, then there’s no point in teaching him any ways?  There is probably a good explanation, but the chapter leaves most of it to our imagination, so I just wanted to toss my ideas out here as food for thought.

On the same topic, I think this style of training is not common now.  With such a high employee turnover rate, there’s no time to let the employees learn the craft on their own.  I don’t know this for sure, but I’m guessing Japan probably have one of the lowest job turnover rate so it might be a feasible tactic there.  I cannot imagine this happening in the US (unless your inheriting a family business or something)

Categories: Bartender
  1. tokkei12
    August 2, 2013 at 6:36 pm

    Thank you so much! ^.^

  2. August 2, 2013 at 6:39 pm

    Hi, Thank you 🙂

  3. anon
    August 2, 2013 at 9:16 pm

    Isn’t he not teaching Wakui because:
    a) He doesn’t know if Wakui’s really serious about it
    b) The management wants to eventually replace him with Wakui?

    So in teaching him this way, if he really wanted to learn, he’d learn it, but otherwise, he doesn’t have to work extra hard to train up someone who might usurp his position?

    • August 3, 2013 at 7:10 pm

      I’ve never thought that Wakui is there to replace Sasakura, but it makes sense. However, I don’t think Sasakura’s the type that would mistreat an apprentice just because he may lose his position at Eden Hall. Of course he wants to work there, but I see him more as a “going with the flow” type of person. It may be true that he’s testing Wakui to see how serious he is at wanting to become a bartender, but I think telling someone to just stand there and do nothing isn’t exactly the best way to check how passionate a person is about a career.

  4. Michael
    August 5, 2013 at 5:00 am

    Add my thanks to the list for your continuing efforts, much appreciated.
    I agree that Sasakura has too much integrity to abuse a trainee.

    How is that ‘Donate’ button working out?

    • August 5, 2013 at 8:26 am

      It’s great! These donations really showed me how much you guys appreciate my translations. It definitely motivates me to stick to releasing at least once every 2 weeks

  5. Anon34
    August 7, 2013 at 8:19 pm

    Maybe Sasakura want to teach him to listen and observe since its one of the thing Sasakura use the most? I’ll also agree that Sasakura would not mistreat someone like that unless we wanted to teach something in particular.

    (Also thanks for all those release and your hard work)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

