Home > Bartender > Bartender Chapter 68 – The Saint Mother’s Rum (Part 3)

Bartender Chapter 68 – The Saint Mother’s Rum (Part 3)

There is a typo in the last page.  It should be “September 11th”, not “September 9th”…

Links:

MediaFire

MangaReader

MangaDB

Drink of the Day:

Between the Sheets (Maiden’s Prayer)

  • 1/3 Light Rum
  • 1/3 Brandy
  • 1/3 Cointreau Triple Sec
  • A teaspoon of Lemon Juice

Comments (Spoiler Alert):

Finally! The end of the 3 part story.  And now I can finally rant.  I think it’s a biased opinion, but I really did not like the character Madam Maria.  I guess I just cannot stand the people who tries to do harm to their bodies, and then justifying it by saying it’s just a container, and we don’t need to take care of it.  Her life is probably really hard and full of turmoil, but I can’t relate.  I was never near any war, so I can’t sympathize with her feelings.

I liked seeing interactions between Sasakura and Mitani, but I didn’t like this instance in particular.  I think the misunderstanding that Mitani had for Sasakura was justified, but I can’t think of any reason why Sasakura can’t just explain to Mitani what he was thinking.  Sure he’s an amateur, and he probably felt embarrassed with how he’s treating Madam Maria, but I never thought of Sasakura as an egotistical figure that can’t tell others of his problems.

And lastly, I want to nitpick a few things.  There were some weird dialog.  Madam Maria mentioned that she’s saying goodbye to Japan “tonight”, but she ended up leaving the next morning.  Miwa’s presence was kind of unnecessary; she brought almost nothing to this story.   When Mitani was asked what he planned to do to help Madam Maria, he wasn’t going to fly somewhere to get the liquor because he thinks that wouldn’t make Madam Maria happy.  Well, he got her some Japanese liquor anyways.  The only differences are that 1) they got an Agricole as opposed to regular rum, and 2) he called people to find it instead of flying somewhere to buy it.  And he had to throw a cliche line like “You guys forgetting something? I’m Hotel Cardinal’s Customer Service Representative!” Ok, big deal.  The lamest line I’ve seen in this manga, and it didn’t have a strong enough follow-up.

</rant>

Categories: Bartender
  1. tg99
    May 4, 2012 at 4:09 pm

    Great job and thanks for the scans! I’m surprised no one else has commented to thank you yet…
    Anyways, I also think Mitani’s line was awkward; the triteness doesn’t fit in well with this manga.

  2. Nazgul
    May 4, 2012 at 9:58 pm

    The last sentence that’s said in this chapter reminded me of a son of the same name, compossed by a chilean artist.
    I’ll leave the video with subs just in case someone may want to listen to it.

  3. Marduk
    May 4, 2012 at 11:02 pm

    First I’d like to thank cityshrimp for uploading this scanlation. Thanks really! I love this manga. It’s one of my favorites. Now, about Maria Mendoza’s character, I have an idea that is based in part on Violeta Parra’s life and artistic contributions as well as in part on another great one, Mercedes Sosa, the Argentinan singer who enjoyed large fame singing the genre of music Violeta sung, and at least one of her most famous songs, “Gracias a La Vida”, a beautiful, hear-touching hymn to life referenced indirectly in the last page of this chapter.

  4. Marduk
    May 4, 2012 at 11:18 pm

    Thanks Nazgul, you actually nailed it. That´s the song right there. And here is Mercedes Sosa’s version of the above song. Notice how much she looks like Maria Mendoza. Me, myself, like this version better. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AgBl-0TBIsY

  5. Marduk
    May 4, 2012 at 11:18 pm

  6. Epistasthai
    May 4, 2012 at 11:31 pm

    ohh, thank you for this! I always look forward to your releases, plus your comments on the chapter.

  7. May 5, 2012 at 3:07 am

    well, I see this one as a damn fine chapter! Between the Sheets is one simple yet fine concoction but usually I see it in a cocktail glass not shot glass perhaps that’s how they did it in the past?

    anyway, can’t think you enough man!

  8. Amelie
    May 7, 2012 at 10:05 pm

    ^^ Thanks for this chapter!
    I’ve been a big fan of Bartender for so long and if you ever need help typesetting please let me know, I can get a chapter done for you within a week at any time (well almost).
    E-mail fortatrox@gmail.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

