Home > Bartender > Bartender Chapter 59 – Liquor Bug – Shuchu

Bartender Chapter 59 – Liquor Bug – Shuchu

This chapter was delayed a bit, since I’m actually in the process of moving.  The next chapter may also be delayed.  And thanks HeckoX for the translation help!

Links:

MediaFire

MangaFox

Drink of the Day:

Gusano Rojo

Thoughts (Spoiler Alert):

Personally, this chapter was quite refreshing. For once, Sasakura didn’t do much in this chapter. All he did was offer a liquor and a game for those three to play. He didn’t say any inspiring words or try to console the customer. He just stood there and somehow those three figured it out by themselves.

I think this chapter presented us with an interesting question. Shuhei was given the opportunity to get a boost (let’s just assume he WILL get good luck if he drank the worm) in his luck and possibly his career, but he decided not to, ultimately because he doesn’t want to rely on a worm to become successful. He wanted to reach his goals with his own strength. I don’t agree with his decision though. I think I would’ve drank the worm, assuming I know I will get good luck out of it. There’s no way a person cannot accomplish anything in this world without other people’s help, and definitely not without luck. It’s like those three have demonstrated, talent alone is not enough. You need to get a chance to show off your skill. You need someone to see your talent. You need an opportunity to shine, no matter what you’re trying to do. It’s a gutsy move to want to achieve something with your own strength, but realistically, it just doesn’t work that way.

Question of the Day:

Would you drink the worm to gain good luck? Or rather depend on your own strengths to work everything out?

Categories: Bartender
  1. August 31, 2011 at 6:01 pm

    Wuuuuut, crediteeeeed! >.<)b
    My pleasure. Good luck with the move.

    And I'd probably rely mostly on my own strength, but I wouldn't mind some luck.
    "Better lucky than good."

  2. cerkis
    August 31, 2011 at 7:33 pm

    Another great chapter, i would have drank the worm because trying out every option available to you might work out. Kinda similar to gambling but with the worm you don’t lose too much money.

  3. v
    September 1, 2011 at 4:19 pm

    In his place I would divide that worm into three pieces, so everybody would make cheers for the better times.

    • Wendy
      September 1, 2011 at 5:32 pm

      Me too! 🙂

  4. glue
    September 5, 2011 at 9:29 am

    About Sasakura’s role in all this matter, I second what you said.
    About the meaning of this story… well, I think that Shuhei, as well as his friends, is just a weak character who doesn’t have the resolve to change his future using whatever may come his way, luck included. Ultimately he didn’t drank the worm just because he was simply afraid: of thinking that his eventual future successful career will not be really earned by him, but more importantly he was afraid of losing his friends because of that, he was afraid to remain alone. His lack of resolve makes him a someway uninteresting character until the very end (that goes for his friends too, of course) but still the fact that, whatever his reasons were, he chose to rely on what he considered more important in his life is something at least understandable. Anyway, considering that luck had already chosen him, his decision to cast that away was already unimportant (Sasakura drank the worm it but in the end he was unlucky). I think that the most logic decision If Shuhei really wanted to be useful to his friends should have been to just convince himself to use that new ‘acquired’ opportunity to try his luck, to eventually become successful (luck can give you an opportunity, still proving to be worth of that chance is a completely different matter) and to help his friends finding their own opportunity.

  5. Boatswain
    September 6, 2011 at 6:05 am

    Hi, thanks for all the chapters of Bartender, I’m a big fan.
    I have a question,not concerning Bartender, but the link to MF. Are you aware of what is being said in this article http://www.mangaupdates.com/showtopic.php?page=1&tid=28000 ?

    • September 6, 2011 at 12:53 pm

      Hi Boatswain, I was not aware of this… I didn’t give much thought to where I upload my scanlations, as long as it was convenient for me. But this sounds pretty serious. I will look into this a bit more myself, and decide whether or not to continue uploading them to mangafox.

  6. Simon
    September 7, 2011 at 10:02 am

    I think if he had been by himself he would have drank the worm.
    The problem was he saw that him getting the worm brought the others down even further.
    That’s why he said he wouldn’t need the worm to suceed, to boost the spirit of the others.
    If I was right, he would be really noble.

  7. September 15, 2011 at 11:03 pm

    Thanks again for the chapter.I’m not a superstitious person myself so I’d probably drink it for the fun of it.I was wondering if you need any help on editing and stuff? I’m not a photoshop master but I guess I could lend a hand, and, if that helped the chaps being released faster, I’d be glad! Feel free to contact me over my e-mail or facebook

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

