Home > Bartender > Bartender Chapter 58 – The Luck of Eden Hall (Part 3)

Bartender Chapter 58 – The Luck of Eden Hall (Part 3)


Links:

MediaFire

MangaFox

Drink of the Day:

Nikolaschka

  • Brandy
  • Lemon
  • Sugar

Thoughts (Spoiler Alert):

This chapter is the last chapter of this three-part story. We see that Sasakura is finally convinced to move on and work at Kurushima’s new hotel. This is a major event in the story, so I’m glad to see that the author wrote a three-part story to show the importance of this transition.

I’m not sure if this whole story is just too deep for me, or the Chinese translation I’m using is a bit off, but in these past 3 chapters, there have been plenty of areas where the dialog doesn’t sit well with me. In this chapter, one part that really felt strange to me is when Sasakura and Kurushima talked about “prey” and “seed”. I’ve read the Chinese translation many times, and also read at the Japanese as well as I could, but what you see is the best translation I can come up with. In fact, I changed it a bit to feel smoother than the Chinese translation.

Lastly, there are two parts that really stood out to me, in a good way. I’ve always liked the comic relief that Maki creates, and he does just that in this chapter. His interaction with Sasakura always make me chuckle. It’s a good change of pace after all that serious talk from the previous chapter. The second part I liked is the subtle dialog between Sasakura and Kurushima. Although I mentioned that the dialog felt off to me in general, I really liked the part where Sasakura made his request to Kurushima. He didn’t explicit say what he wanted, but Kurushima was able to understand Sasakura, and immediately make some arrangements for his request. I think on some levels, it shows how much Kurushima trusts in Sasakura’s ability.

Categories: Bartender
  1. August 11, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    Thank you very much for the new release!!

  2. August 11, 2011 at 9:43 pm

    Yo, long time, no see.
    Some notes for you:

    It’s true that Nicholas II of Russia was known as Nikolaška, but from what I can gather, it’s standard nickname in Russia for people name Nicholas (or well, technically “Nikolaj”).

    Anywho, saying that it was invented by him is probably taking too much ‘creative liberty’, as the drink was invented in Hamburg, Germany. While there is something called Nikolaška in Russia, it isn’t a cocktail, but a sort of coffee-powder sugar busquit thing… ;>.>

    Moving on…

    They “prey” they are referring to is most likely a fox. It is/was tradition for hunters to have a small glass of brandy before a fox hunt. From what I gather, it was a pick-me-up and also good against the nippy weather.

    Now… here’s where it gets a bit abstract… =.=;

    Kurushima: “[talks about cane and British nobility]
    Kurushima: “Before going hunting and killing the prey, they would share a toast.
    Kurushima: “It’s brandy.
    Sasakura: “I’m the prey..?” (being metaphoric, probably since Kurushima has been ‘hunting’ for him since the beginning)
    Kurushima: “No, you’re more like a seed.” (since he still has space to ‘grow’; connected to the previous talk with Mika about ‘cultivating talent’.)

    Hope this makes sense ;>.>

    Anyway, great job >.<)b

    • August 12, 2011 at 6:52 am

      Hi Hecko! Thanks for the detailed explanation on the subject matters. Your insights are always very helpful. If you don’t mind, may I ask for your help when I run into problems like this in the future? Bartender is full of references to history and literature (two of my worst subjects back in school), so it would be very helpful if someone can set the facts straight for me. 🙂

      • August 12, 2011 at 7:31 am

        Sure thing!
        Bartender is one of may favourite manga and anime, so I’d be glad to help. I’m used to daily fact checking, so it should be a cinch for the most part ;P

        Speaking of the anime, Nikolaška was actually the featured cocktail in episode 2 (the endings/credit rolls always showed an actual bartender making the featured cocktail in-between cuts).

        Here’s a link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rIT4EfdDs2s

  3. AnonymousAlcoholic
    August 23, 2011 at 4:16 am

    Awesome, love your work on the Bartender series!

    Have you heard of a manga called “Kami no Shizuku”? It’s about wine~ There are some scanlated chapters around, but it was dropped, which is a shame because there’s 20+ volumes already published T.T Wonder if you would be interested in picking up where they left off?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

