Home > Bartender > Bartender Chapter 54 – Ryuu’s Past (Part 1)

Bartender Chapter 54 – Ryuu’s Past (Part 1)


Links:

MediaFire

MangaFox

Drink of the Day:

Sidecar

  • 30 ml Brandy
  • 15 ml Cointreau
  • 15 ml Lemon Juice

Thoughts (Spoiler Alert):

Like all good multi-chapter stories, there is a cliffhanger that makes the readers want more. The author ended the chapter right when we are about to dive into Sasakura’s past. We also just found out that he had an incident back in Europe, and if I didn’t read the manga as a volume, I would’ve wanted to know what happened right away.  The original text kind of suggested that Sasakura was the one who killed the customer, but that’s not true. I tried to tone that down and hopefully no one thought about it that way. I hate it when mangas overstate a situation because I would get disappointed once I find out what really happened. The story is still interesting, but I don’t want to make it seem like Sasakura killed someone. I don’t want to spoil any story either, so I’ll say no more about this.

The story of Sidecar is interesting. I did a quick search and didn’t find sources saying that Sidecar orginated from Germany. I only found sources saying it either came from Paris or London. But I’ve stopped dwelling in the details, as long as the author can keep things entertaining. Whether the story is made up or not, the author gave us a good moral, and he was kind enough to spell it out for us. The moral is that good things can be given by a friend or foe.  The best thing about getting something good out of an enemy is that we don’t expect it.  And that makes the good will much more enjoyable.

It’s funny to see Kitagata point out how Miwa likes Sasakura. At the pace their going, there won’t be any romantic feelings ever between them. I’m content with that, since that’s not the focus of the story, but it’s nice to see the author play with the relationships between these characters.

Question of the Day:

Good things can come in many different shapes and forms.  In your experience, what is the most unexpected source of a good will or good fortune that you encountered before?

Categories: Bartender
  1. Yukio
    June 17, 2011 at 1:41 pm

    The manga just keeps getting better and better! I myself am a bartender but I know I’m nowhere near reaching Sasakura’s level not to say Saito’s or Kuzuhara’s, but I just love how the story and characters develop, especially Ryuu, who’s way more flawed and human than his anime version..The drama version is good too, not better, but much different, in a way.
    Keep up the good work folks!Cheers from brazil

  2. Ariel
    June 17, 2011 at 2:37 pm

    Thank you very much!!

  3. Batora
    June 17, 2011 at 5:06 pm

    Hey, I found Bartender through the anime, which I’ve just finished. I’m delighted there’s a group actively scanlating this. I’m enjoying the manga so far, as well as Liar Game, which I’ve also started recently. Please, keep up the good work!

    Unexpected good fortune? Well, a person I loath happened to introduce me to my current girlfriend of two and a half years. I can’t stand this person, but I guess I owe her a lot.

  4. June 17, 2011 at 7:48 pm

    Thank you again, wouldn’t know what to do without you.

    this chapter was…interesting… it really makes me think a bit. one of the more emotional chapters i’ve read in bartender…

  5. DP
    June 17, 2011 at 11:36 pm

    Holy…. Woah. For a moment I thought they were going to follow the Bartender drama first episode plot (which I didn’t like)… but this… Woah. I’m impressed.

    In your experience, what is the most unexpected source of a good will or good fortune that you encountered before?

    Strangers. They are the most unexpected and sometimes the most welcome. It’s nice to know that there are some people out there that will go out of their ways to help others or just be kind.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

