Home > Bartender > Bartender Chapter 50 – Lemon and Olive

Bartender Chapter 50 – Lemon and Olive

Just got back from a one-week vacation.  Sorry I didn’t put a post, but I was already out of the country by the time I realized I haven’t said anything on the blog. But I tried my best to get this chapter up as soon as I could.  Enjoy 🙂

Links:

Megaupload

MangaFox

OtakuComplex

Drink of the Day:

Buckeye Martini

  • 45 ml Vodka
  • 15 ml Vermouth
  • Garnish with Black Olive

Thoughts (Spoiler Alert):

This chapter is focused on the new girl bartender, Kanagi Yuri.  She made her first appearance in Chapter 49, and she seemed like a confident and skillful bartender, who is only a totally different level as Kawakami.  However, in this chapter, we find that she is also far from being a professional bartender herself.  There are still much for her to learn, which makes sense, since she only have 3 years of experience.  The author took some time to explain her background, and what she wants to achieve.  Uehara said that she is similar to Sasakura in terms of their personality, but I think their ultimate goals are opposites (at least at the moment).  Sasakura is all about helping the people that comes to him, but Kanagi just wants to make a name for herself and work at a famous bar.  The author didn’t explicit state this, but it’s possible that she must have seen some hardship in her past to make her want to become independent and accomplished.

Uehara said that in anyone in the service industry should have a pair of good eyes.  We have seen this demonstrated many times before, not only by Sasakura, but by other bartenders in the story as well.  The first step is always to identify the customer and understand as much about them as possible.  There is a lot of information you can get just by how someone dresses, acts, and speaks.  I think it’s a great skill to have even for people that’s not in the service industry.

One last note, there have been several hints now that Sasakura was a hardball back in the day.  There haven’t been any explanations as to what exactly happened to change him so drastically.  I really hope the author would touch upon that part of the story some time.

Categories: Bartender
  1. DP
    May 5, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    Thank you for your efforts! Nice scanlation, as always.

  2. C-
    May 5, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    Was wondering if you’d like some one to do some web design to replace this drab (no offense) WordPress blog…. (i.e. online reader, less premade look)

    For free, of course, and you can always switch back (or never switch in the first place) to WordPress if you don’t like it.

    Email me if you’re interested…. (an email saying no would be nice too)

    • May 6, 2011 at 8:26 am

      Yea, it would be nice to get a new look. I would email you if I could, but I don’t think you included that in the comment

  3. SilentArchangel
    May 5, 2011 at 7:44 pm

    pleeeeeeeease can you upload to mediafire.com as well? Or can one of the commenters download off megaupload and reupload to mediafire? Asia can’t download from megaupload

    • May 6, 2011 at 8:27 am

      I’ll look into that, but I’ve been trying to keep the work I do with uploading to a minimum. If it’s simple to do, I’ll start uploading to MediaFire as well.

      • SilentArchangel
        May 8, 2011 at 5:56 pm

        Thanks! It’s insanely easy to do, and also easier for downloaders. You can stop megaupload and use mediafire since it’s more internationally friendly.

  4. C-
    May 6, 2011 at 5:36 pm

    I believe if you’re using WordPress and you’re the admin, you can see the email through the comments section or something.

    ….correct me if I’m wrong.

    Also, I’d leave my email in my comments, but I’ve had bad experience with leaving my email out on the internet.

  5. JC
    July 17, 2011 at 5:46 am

    Hello. Thank you very much for your great work. Excellent translation and fine editing is getting harder to come by lately. Thank you. I was wondering if there is a reason why I don’t seem to be able to find Chapter 49. Pls advise

    • July 25, 2011 at 8:02 am

      I had to take it down because it was getting filled with spams (about 100 a day).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

