Home > Bartender > Bartender Chapter 46 – Types of Misfortunes

Bartender Chapter 46 – Types of Misfortunes

I really need to double check the Chinese translation I use, almost screwed up on one part.  I think I will start double checking what I translate against the Japanese text (although I can’t read much of it…)

Update: Forgot to mention this, but I appreciate all the comments I get.  It’s nice to know people are reading what I write and even responding.  Also, it doesn’t seem like mangas are on-hold even though they were just hit by crazy earthquakes and tsunamis.  Gotta admire Japanese work ethic!

Links:

Megaupload

MangaFox

OtakuComplex

Drink of the Day:

DRC Marc de Bourgogne, Domaine de la Romanée Conti

Thoughts (Spoiler Alert):

Another story about the cruel realities.  I didn’t really enjoy this chapter, mainly because I never liked reading about jerks.  Especially someone who have no right to complain.  Minoshima said it himself, he inherited both fame and fortune from his father.  He’s already far better off than most people, and yet he’s not satisfied.  He complains that his father did not leave him with any talent, and that sounds like whining to me.  If he’s a second-class actor, that’s his own fault.  Of course acting requires talent, but I don’t think he can blame anyone for not getting any.  And it is most definitely not because his dad used it all up.  Unlike the other characters who are troubled, I feel absolutely no sympathy for him.  A spoiled brat and nothing more.

Once again, the author thrown in bits of knowledge and integrate them in the story.  It’s nice to know what are some things that annoying customers do at a bar, so I can avoid doing that in the future.  Also, the quote Sasakura used this time was actually easy to find, which made my life a lot easier.

Question of the Day:

This chapter featured cocktails with recipes that are unheard of.  That reminded me of all the weird combinations I have tried on different occasions.  Most of them didn’t taste all that good, but it was still interesting.  The most recent one I had is Absinthe with Sierra Mist.  That was pretty nasty.  But enough about my experiences.  What is the weirdest cocktail you have ever had?

Categories: Bartender
  1. Ariel
    March 14, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    Thank you very much!!!

  2. Menchi
    March 14, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    I can understand that it’s hard to sympathize with such a jerk. I don’t know if he was actually blaming his father for not leaving him any talent. When I first read through it I took it that he was lamenting that he didn’t have his fathers talent, not cursing his father for it. The squeezing it dry and leaving only residue was more him trying to be poetic. I don’t really think him a spoiled brat. He’s just his own harshest critic. While his colleagues and fans likely think he’s great, he feels that he should be better. Going through his whole life feeling that way has made him what he his. He’s a dick, to be sure. He’s got major issues when it comes to dealing with his anger/frustration, no doubt about it. But I don’t think its as easy to write off as just another spoiled brat. There’s too much self-hate for that.

  3. BC
    March 15, 2011 at 3:41 am

    writing from Japan. Our city was hit hard.
    Was an unexpected pleasure to see bartender was out when the power came on today.
    As a bartender here, serving as a teacher, thank you so much. I needed this one really badly.

    • March 15, 2011 at 7:42 am

      I’m glad I can help out (even if it’s just a morale boost) someone with my scanlations. Hoping for the best for everyone in Japan.

  4. v
    March 19, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    I think you didn’t get that. His father gave him everything, but took all hardships, which are required to feel good and proud of finished work. Now he feels like residue, leftover, which can’t do anything new.

  5. March 20, 2011 at 7:23 pm

    Japanese mangaka are insane. After the earthquake hit, the publishing house I work for here in Denmark sent out emails to the Japanese mangaka we have contracts with, asking if everything was alright and if they and their loved ones were unharmed.

    One of them responded with that he was very grateful for our concern, but regretted to inform us that it might take 2-3 days extra to finish the next chapter XD

  6. March 22, 2011 at 7:49 am

    The wierdiest cocktail huh? That would be Petroleoum, 1oz. tequila, the juice of a lemon, 1 dash of tabasco sauce, 3 dashes of soy sauce and a pinch of salt

    • March 23, 2011 at 7:45 am

      Wow… is that any good?? although it sounds more like a punishment for a drinking game…

  7. March 23, 2011 at 11:48 pm

    Hey, I was wondering if it would be alright to host your bartender releases on Batoto.com’s viewer. I didn’t see any policies and I really enjoy this series so I think it would be great if more people became exposed to it. =^)

    • March 25, 2011 at 8:04 am

      Sure, go right ahead. I also want more people to know about this awesome manga 🙂 Thanks!

      • March 29, 2011 at 11:27 am

        Also, in case you have a google ad-sense account, Batoto lets you use your own ad-sense account on works that you scanlated (i.e. when someone reads bartender there, its as if they read it on your site). If not its nbd, just wanted to to let you know. =^)

  8. Epistasthai
    March 31, 2011 at 5:04 am

    Thanks so much for these releases! It is a big help to have something to read at the moment.

    The worst (oops, wierdest) cocktail I ever had was the Absinthe Swisse. Absinthe, Pernod, orange-flower water, Creme de Menthe and egg white. I couldn’t swallow it easily and had to ask for a slice of lime with water. I think absinthe is strongly flavoured so it doesn’t lend itself to mixed drinks very well. I do like absinthe, but not in a mixed drink (not even Hemingway’s fav – Death in the Afternoon, which is a dose of absinthe in a champagne flute topped off with champagne. So bitter!!!)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

