Home > Bartender > Bartender Chapter 45 – Bitter Liquor

Bartender Chapter 45 – Bitter Liquor

Links:

Megaupload

MangaFox

OtakuComplex

Drink of the Day:

Parisian

  • 30 ml Gin
  • 15 ml Dry Vermouth
  • 15 ml Creme de Cassis

Thoughts (Spoiler Alert):

Being a white-collar worker myself, I can relate to this chapter quite a bit.  I don’t love my job, but it’s a pretty enjoyable job where I have enough time to do things on my own (like scanlating! :D).  However, what really bugs me 90% of the time is my boss.  My boss also happen to be a very detail-oriented person, and it’s frustrating sometimes because I don’t always have the details.  Personally, I don’t think the information he asked for is all that important, but it’s not easy to convince a boss that what he asks for is useless.  I believe many people out there also feel the same way, but that’s just how life goes.  There are some things you can’t control, but you just have to make the best of it.

Another moral of this story is act appropriately depending on situation.  I think it goes beyond business.  Even when you are around family and friends, there are ways you should act unless you’re goal is to cause a disturbance.  Even though you can probably act naturally in front of family and friends, that’s not always the case.  You can’t always say and do what you want.  I agree that everyone needs a place where they can be removed from all this acting, and just be yourself.  A bar isn’t a bad choice, but there are other places.  Some prefer the library, some likes to spend time in the coffee shop.  It really doesn’t matter where.

Question of the Day:

What is your “hiding place”?  I’ve named a few above, but I’m curious what are some other places people would go to to relax and be themselves.

Categories: Bartender
  1. February 25, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    Thank you!

  2. yihdego
    February 25, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    I have a few places I hide. There’s my dojo where I can practice my martial arts and really put my soul into fighting. I have a cafe where I geek out and read comic books and manga. Lastly I have a hobby store where I play board games and just talk about general geek culture.

  3. Ariel
    February 25, 2011 at 3:48 pm

    Thank you very much for the new release!!!
    A hiding place? hun… I like to stay at home doing nothing! To me this is very relaxing, hehehe…

  4. Epistasthai
    February 25, 2011 at 4:22 pm

    Thanks for the new release! I really look forward to reading these!

    What’s my ‘bolt-hole’ or hiding place? I have several, depending on my mood. I have a fav coffee-shop where I go to read and write. There’s a bar nearby that I also like to go to, where I can relax and chat or read or just sit and think. If I wanna be alone with my thoughts, I go for a walk in a park nearby.

    It can be exasperating when a boss wants something that you don’t have or can’t give or (because you have the expertise not him) is not even needed. But sometimes you just have to give them what they want. That’s when I really appreciate my hiding places.

    thanks for all your hard work bringing us this lovely work!

  5. LeftArrow
    February 25, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    I hide in a storage room at my work. Only a hand full of people have access to the room and there’s a perfect hiding place there. After I get all my stuff done I go in there 🙂

  6. Keika
    February 25, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    Great job. Thanks, keep it up.

  7. Pen
    February 26, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    Thanks once again for the scanlation. In answer to your question, and considering I’m currently living in a boarding house, I had to slightly adjust the meaning of “hiding place”, when I’m at home. Sometimes, my hiding place isn’t a place, it is a certain ammount of time. From midnight to the first rays of sunlight the common halls and rooms of the manor are empty and its when I can be myself again inside my “home”.

    By the way, after my father taught me that an “ammount of time” could be a “hiding place”, I discovered that many places I had to attend at anyways could be chosen as hideouts, depending on how effectively I could pick my time being around them.

    • Epistasthai
      March 3, 2011 at 8:14 am

      wow. I had completely never thought that sometimes it isn’t the place that is the hiding place, but the time. I go to a fav cafe early in the morning when few are around and it is so soothing (the crowd comes for lunch and afterwards). I’ll start thinking of this as anther ‘hiding place’. Thanks for pointing this out, that a hiding place is not always a place, but a time!

  8. 6achill
    March 6, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    thanks for the new release!

    I agree with many of the comments as a hiding place not necessarily being a physical place. I’ve just recently started school again where my routine constantly involves studying and more studying. To balance my school life, i make time for the gym and play soccer on the weekends. Exercise is my stress release, which I suppose is my hiding place.

  9. Jason
    March 12, 2011 at 2:19 am

    Thanks for your effort in scanlating! 😉 Personally I like to spend time alone at places outside and up high like hills or roofs. But I agree on the time being the most important! Where I live it gets really quiet during the evening/night and there’s a cool fresh breeze – it’s really relaxing 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

