Home > Bartender > Bartender Chapter 42 – Two Kinds of Sorrow

Bartender Chapter 42 – Two Kinds of Sorrow

Happy New Years! I hope everyone enjoyed the holidays, I know I did.  But back to work and scanlating now.  I should be back to releasing a chapter every other week.

Links:

Megaupload

MangaFox

OtakuComplex

Drink of the Day:

Paul Giraud (’75 Cuvee Special)

Thoughts (Spoiler Alert):

This chapter revolves around Kurata, who have made several appearances in the manga.  We don’t know too much about him aside from the fact that he was crazy in highschool (according to his junior in a previous chapter).  I’ve always liked him as a character, so it’s nice to see a story about him.

We also got to see a bit of interaction between Sasakura, Kawakami, and Miwa.  There have been subtle hints of how Miwa feels about Sasakura, but nothing too explicit.  It seems to me like Kawakami is a bit jealous, but very little.  The author left a lot of room for imagination.  It’s good to see that the author isn’t adding too much romance into this manga.  It gets me excited to see things develop between Sasakura and Miwa, but on the other hand, I don’t want the story to focus on that.

Lastly, I want to nitpick a little bit about the title of this chapter.  The title is two kinds of sorrow, and Sasakura explained which two kinds are there.  However, the only type we got to see is the unspeakable kind.  I was expecting to see another, maybe coming from Kurata, but I didn’t see any of the sort.  If anything, I think the emotions he had were also unspeakable.  He is cruelly and wrongly judged by his future father-in-law, but could not say a word against it.  I know what the author wants to express, but this is just something I think the author could’ve done better at.  I think he can try to somehow add a speakable sorrow into the story.

Question:

Sasakura mentioned that many professional Bartenders don’t drink.  I assume he meant that they don’t drink regularly, since I would expect that Bartenders need to taste their own drinks (at least during training) to know if they are doing things right or not.  That aside, is it common for professional bartenders to not drink?

Categories: Bartender
  1. Ariel
    January 7, 2011 at 12:26 am

    Thank you very much and Happy New Year!!!

  2. rabbitsyndrome
    January 7, 2011 at 2:15 am

    I’m not a bartender myself, but I do know a friend whose dad went to bartending school (though this was like ten years ago so he doesn’t know if things have changed).

    His response:
    “It’s not a rule or anything like that, but many bartenders do avoid drinking altogether simply because it makes it that much harder to break two cardinal rules of bartending (never drink on the job, be completely sober on the job). Of course, most who follow this practice generally have tons of experience making drinks.
    So how do those bartenders test out new drinks? They find other bartenders who are willing to drink. :)”

  3. LeftArrow
    January 7, 2011 at 5:36 pm

    All the bartenders I know drink. I can see a bartender drinking in his younger days and grow out of it when he gets older. This manga definitely over romanticizes what a bartenders job is. Most don’t work at a bar that’s has a bunch of cocktail specials. I’d say the majority of them work at a dive bar or a restaurant and the drinks they make are really simple

  4. Epistasthai
    January 8, 2011 at 6:41 am

    thanks (as usual) for a wonderful release (as usual)! About your query regarding bartenders drinking habits. My husband went to Bartending School and was active in the liquor industry for years. According to what he told me, many professional bartenders don’t like to drink on the job, because it makes it harder to do a proper job at work if you’re tipsy. (professional meaning someone doing it for a career, not working their way through school or waiting for ‘the big chance’). However, bartenders do have to know what a drink tastes like, so they used to do ‘tasting’ tests. And he does drink socially. He always drinks ‘for taste’, though, not the buzz. (meaning if he doesn’t like the taste, he won’t drink the drink). I think it depends on the personality, though. However, professional bartenders are like other professionals anywhere who take pride in their work – they don’t take part in activities on the job that would interfere with their performance. In this case, this means remaining sober on the job.

  5. a.
    January 8, 2011 at 4:40 pm

    Happy new year ! And thanks !
    I once worked as a bartender for my father, who owned a restaurant, and was trained by a professional to make my drinks, but I never ever tasted one of my own cocktails, and customers never complained about my drinks. So I agree with the author and the other posters, bartenders don’t have to drink to do their job 🙂

  6. BC
    January 18, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    I never drink when I’m working the bar. The potential problem is that at times the patron wants to buy the bartender a drink. you can refuse, but in some cases that is simply too impolite. So often when I will do is accept the drink and explain to the patron that I will take it after my shift is over, though most times I’ll give it to someone else later.

    • Lucy
      January 19, 2011 at 9:28 pm

      Remember the chapter with the nonalcoholic cocktail? 🙂 Could you let the patron buy you a drink that doesn’t have alcohol in it when it’s impolite to not let the patron buy you a drink?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

