Home > Bartender > Bartender Chapter 38 – The Story in the Glass (Part 2)

Bartender Chapter 38 – The Story in the Glass (Part 2)

This chapter was kind of tough to translate, so it took me a while.  I also didn’t realize until a few moments ago that one of the anime episodes is based on this (or else it would’ve made my life a lot easier).  Anyways, hope everyone enjoys the 2nd part of this story!

Links:

Megaupload

MangaFox

OtakuComplex

Drink of the Day:

Aberdeen Angus

  • 45 ml Scotch Whisky (Lagavulin)
  • 20 ml Drambuie Scotch Whisky
  • 1 Dash of Honey
  • 15 ml Lemon Juice (or Lime Juice)

Thoughts (Spoiler Alert):

Conclusion to chapter 37, Sasakura, again, saved more souls.  It’s a pretty typical Bartender story, with a typical ending.  No surprises, but I’m not thoroughly impressed either.  There were quite a lot of information in both of these chapters though.  I learned a great deal about Scotch Whisky, and I now have different brands I would like to try (esp. the lighter ones).  I normally only drink Jack Daniels or Johnnie Walker, and sometimes Macallan or Chevas, but I’ve found most of those to be a bit too strong for me.  I always add a lot of ice.  I’m hoping the lighter Whiskies mentioned in this chapter will be good.  The author also fed us with a lot of background information about Whisky, it was like a history lesson in disguise.  I didn’t bother verifying the whole thing, but it looked right.

I was a bit sad that Kawakami did not have much of a role in this second part of the story.  She kind of faded into the background after Sasakura came back.  I was hoping to get more comic relief out of her, but the story was too serious for that I guess.

I’m also seeing more disconnects between some of the characters lines.  I don’t feel it when I read the manga once, but it just feels so weird when I read it multiple times and really emulate how the conversation would be as if it was happening right in front of me.  I think I should’ve went and watch the anime first before releasing this next chapter, but I was kind of sick of working on this chapter.  I hope the conversation will be more “cohesive” in future chapters.

Categories: Bartender
  1. Artur
    October 28, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    I’m from Brazil and I’ve never said whisky while taking a picture. We usually say “cheese” as well which is actually the way to pronounce the letter “x” over here.

    • Freddy
      October 30, 2010 at 9:59 am

      I think that “Whisky” is often said in Spanish-speaking countries, I’m not sure if that happens in every country, but at least it was (until not too long ago) commonly used in Chile (I’m Chilean).

    • Avantoe
      November 1, 2010 at 5:29 am

      I have family in both Brazil and Argentina, and I’ve heard “Whisky” being mentioned in both Brazil and Argentina, I’m not saying it is that way, but if compared to other countries i believe its more common there than any other place, therefor has become commonly used in referals of the counties.

      Hmm, I realize that my former statement is quite messy in its meaning, but it should prove to be understandable 😛

  2. Grey
    October 28, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    Thank you for translation 🙂

  3. Ariel
    October 28, 2010 at 7:26 pm

    Thank you very much for the new release!!

  4. Stan
    October 29, 2010 at 2:27 am

    Really enjoy reading your thoughts and interpretations of the manga…keep them coming! 🙂

  5. privaterian
    October 29, 2010 at 9:10 am

    Thank you for the part 2. a bit confusing story but still entertaining :))

  6. October 29, 2010 at 11:50 am

    Thank you for the update!

    And sorry for the late update on my website >.<, saw that many people tried to access it and couldn't…

    Sorry!!

    • October 29, 2010 at 12:35 pm

      Sorry Itasha, I should’ve shot you an email, but I totally forgot (busy day). I’ll make sure to do that next time

      • October 29, 2010 at 4:31 pm

        It was my fault for not checking… I have your blog subscribed to my email so its definitely not your fault.

        And I somehow uploaded the manga in wrong page order… I’m definitely having a bad day…

        Fixed it though!

  7. Avantoe
    October 29, 2010 at 11:53 am

    Thank you for the update! Great read!

  8. October 30, 2010 at 6:50 pm

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

