Home > Bartender > Bartender Chapter 34 – Subtle Difference

Bartender Chapter 34 – Subtle Difference

Chapter 34 finally out.  It’s nice to take my time on this though.  Thanks everyone for your support!

BTW, does anyone know whether the author Araki Joh is a guy or girl?  I want to use the right pronouns when addressing him/her in the future… Thanks

Links

MangaFox

Megaupload

Drink of the Day

Caol Ila – Islay Whiskey with a strong barley fragrance

Thoughts (Spoiler Alert)

Sasakura just started working for a stingy owner, and already something feels off.  The owner, Maki, in the previous chapter, gave off a mysterious and professional aura.  The conversation between Higashiyama and him left me thinking he’s someone who have some special good quality.  But when Maki is revealed, the impression he gave off is so different that I can’t help but think the author did not know what he wanted to do with the character at the time.

This chapter was also quite predictable.  When Sasakura produced the glasses, and asked Maki to try three “different” liquors, it was pretty obvious that he gave Maki the same drink every time.  I know that it’s not easy to keep tossing out surprises every chapter, but it was just a little disappointing that the only “twist” in this chapter was so predictable and common.

One thing I did like about this chapter is how it focused on different types of drinking glasses.  Bartender has always been a manga that explored every aspect of a bar; whether it be service, customers, cocktails, or management.  I feel like I learned something when I read this chapter, and that’s always a plus in my books.

Overall, I did not like this chapter much, although it is somewhat humorous thanks to the new loud-mouthed owner that Sasakura will be working for.  On the brightside, there will be more appearances from Kawakami, which are the chapters I enjoyed more during this arc.  But I’ll hold off on talking about that when I get to those chapters.

Categories: Bartender
  1. Alex
    September 1, 2010 at 11:51 pm

    I also enjoyed how the different glasses were introduced in this chapter. You learn something new every day =)

  2. September 2, 2010 at 3:06 pm

    Hey Cityshrimp, Can you please send me an email as I would like to talk to you concerning Bartender!

    Thank you!

    • September 2, 2010 at 3:34 pm

      Hi PeterV, I would send you an email if you can give me an email address to send to…

  3. Keskiyo
    September 2, 2010 at 3:31 pm

    Thank you~

    You spoil us so much!

  4. NumbahOneFan
    September 2, 2010 at 10:40 pm

    wicked, thanks so much for this, keep up the awesomeness

  5. TheVoiceofReason
    September 3, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    You’re on a roll! truly win.

  6. cerkis
    September 5, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    Good work on the chapter.

  7. jfgslo
    September 9, 2010 at 1:50 pm

    According to AccessUp.Org, Akira Joh is a man:
    http://www.accessup.org/tij/6_BEEBA5A2A5E9A5AD/

  8. siverstorm
    September 13, 2010 at 7:11 pm

    Ahh it’s good to see that this is still being scanlated.

    I got scared because I was having trouble finding it.

    Keep up the awesome work guys.

  9. Pen
    September 13, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    Indeed, thank you so much, CityShrimp. This is one of a kind manga, and your so well lead and informative scanlation makes for even more to my interest for it. Finally Ryu is at Eden Hall. For the info I read around about Bartender, there was this talk about him at Eden Hall. I don’t have a clue about what will happen, I didn’t get any picks about later chapters. However, seems to me there’s something around being planned for Sasakura, or at least something planned in which Sasakura may fit very well. Thank you again and take care

  10. BobGrim
    September 16, 2010 at 2:54 am

    Keep the good work up! It scared the crap out of me when I came back from Norway and saw that onemanga was down, and I went all “WHAT? WHERE DO I GET MY BARTENDER MANGA?!”. You rock!

  1. October 29, 2010 at 1:30 am

Leave a Reply

