Home > Bartender > Bartender Chapter 31 – A Bar’s Stool

Bartender Chapter 31 – A Bar’s Stool

It seems that Bartender has been licensed, and MangaHelpers are not allowing anymore scanlations to be uploaded for this series.  I will start uploading them to MangaToshokan instead.  Not sure if the upload went through.  I guess I’ll find out a bit later.  And I also hope OneManga and MangaFox will find mangas from there to add to their website.

Sweet! MangaToshokan approved and added it.

Links

MangaToshokan

OneManga

MangaFox

Megaupload

Drink of the Day

Brandy Buck

  • 45 ml Brandy
  • 20 ml Lemon Juice
  • Fill with Ginger Ale

Thoughts (Spoiler Alert)

Another Kyouko chapter! Although this is just a continuation of the previous, still nice to see her again so soon.  I really think she adds another dimension to the manga, since other chapters are more serious.  Her screw ups and interactions with Sasakura really lightens the mood, and brings more humor into the picture.  It’s also cool to see Kuzuhara becoming someone more flexible.  It’s no question that he’s starting to change because of Sasakura, so even though Sasakura lost to Kuzuhara, some good things did come out for both side.

This chapter was also a relatively easy one to translate, and the humor makes it easier for me to keep at it.  It referenced a quote from Henry David Thoreau.  Even someone like me who only read about 10 books in my whole life knows of this author, so it was quite easy to find the exact quote mentioned.  I’m not too positive what Transcendentalism is all about, but it feels like an ancient idea to live a minimalist’s life.

Sasakura and Kyouko had different opinions of people who go to a bar alone.  Kyouko seem to think Sasakura’s explanation is incorrect, and that people can happily go to a bar alone.  But I think she’s wrong in thinking Sasakura is wrong.  Being lonesome and being happy are not mutually exclusive.  You can be happy and lonely at the same time.  I can’t imagine anyone going to a bar alone and not feel lonely.  Even if the best thing happened to you, if you go there alone, you’re looking for someone to talk to because you don’t have anyone to share your good news with.  Kyouko’s case was unique, since she’s there to see Sasakura.  She wasn’t exactly a “customer”.

Categories: Bartender
  1. jjjjjj3866
    June 11, 2010 at 10:18 am

    Thanks for scanlating this series.
    It’s one of my favorites, and it was inactive for a long time before you picked it up

  2. Skyseer
    June 11, 2010 at 10:13 pm

    I’d gladly buy this series if I find it in stores, but I hope you keep scanlating it because it’ll take years and years to fully release

  3. Joe
    June 12, 2010 at 12:14 am

    Without reading this rant..

    Can’t you specify in the heading how spoilery the spoiler is (Only this chapter or future chapters)? If it concerns future chapters please format it under a seperate heading perhaps, so that one can read your rant on this chapter

  4. Joe
    June 12, 2010 at 12:22 am

    K. No future spoilers.

    I think I don’t like her.

  5. Pen
    June 12, 2010 at 10:34 am

    Once again, thanks for sharing your hard work in translating such an interesting piece of art. Also, considering I’m always coming back to your page, searching for the interesting reviews you give for each chapter, was thinking I could as well add comments of my own.

    For a first time, I just would like to point out something I deemed interesting about Kuzuhara. His advice to Kyouko was extremely related to the technique shown in the duel Kuzuhara/Sasakura. That, to me, came as to show mister perfect may be too set on his intent of finding the perfect formula. However, considering this, sounded like a contradiction to me his earlier speech, about the fact he should drink more cocktails from young bartenders. I had from that that he openly admitted he was lacking something. While he always stated he was still searching for the perfect drink, it was the first time I recall seeing him openly admit he should do something contrary to what he is used to (in this matter, bathing on young bartender’s ideas). Perhaps, then, his advice for Kyouko was not really a contradiction. Perhaps, was if he thanked her for her youth, paying back with his experience, throwing in tips of his style to her mindset.

  6. Edward
    June 13, 2010 at 6:37 am

    I would like to thank you for translating this. It’s one of my favourite series, and the effort you put in can’t be must less than an actual Bartender 🙂

  7. Tony
    June 13, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    This series is great and I enjoy every chapter. Thank you for your hard work.

  8. borabosna
    June 18, 2010 at 6:44 am

    sankyuuu~~~~

  9. ITO
    June 18, 2010 at 7:02 pm

    For what it is worth it looks like Manga Helpers is not allowing any uploads and they are trying to develop “open Manga” as some kind of actual business model or something.

    MangaToshokan has carried it for a while, I upload over there and we love your translations.

    One Manga is caring it.

    http://crazytje.be also has it.

  10. November 12, 2010 at 10:40 am

    bar stools that are made from stainless steel are the best because they don’t tarnish often —

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

