Home > Bartender > Bartender Chapter 29 – Ingredients of a Bar

Bartender Chapter 29 – Ingredients of a Bar

Finally a new post.  I want to first apologize for being too harsh in my criticism on chapter 28.  I think the worst part is that most of the mistakes I pointed out had a reason behind it.  Please read the comments in that post to get more information on the areas I thought were incorrect.  It definitely taught me a few things about alcohol and culture that I did not know before.

Links

MangaHelpers

OneManga

MangaFox

Megaupload

Drink of the Day

Mirin

Thoughts

I’m slightly disappointed that this chapter did not feature a single cocktail.  The story teaches yet another moral, and there is no lack of humor, so overall, it’s a pretty good chapter.  But the fact that there are no cocktails just killed it for me.  One of the main things I look forward to in each chapter is a new cocktail, and I was hoping Sasakura to mix a drink using Mirin, but that didn’t happen.

I’m not into politics at all, and history is one of my weaker subjects in school, so I have no idea what Gaullism entails.  I translated the dialog as is, and although I really wanted to verify and understand what they’re talking about, I just can’t.  I went on Wiki and other sources to figure out exactly what he meant by going against US philosophy, but it’s just too time consuming for me to try and learn all this just for scanlating.

Final note, I love to see characters come back for a second appearance, so that also made this chapter more interesting for me.

Categories: Bartender
  1. Kel`
    May 27, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    Thanks for the release. Loved it and love your website.

  2. Darkos
    May 27, 2010 at 3:45 pm

    Hello, as a frenchman i would like contribute to your work. I don’t know japanese but I want to make a little correction.
    De Gaulle was not “against usa” i think it’s better to use “independant politic from the US” and not “best country in the world” but exceptional more like special.
    Thx a lot for your work!!!!

  3. cerkis
    May 27, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    Another brilliant chapter, good work on the translation.

  4. a.
    May 28, 2010 at 1:25 am

    I think the man on page 4 looks a bit like Jean Reno, a French actor : http://www.ninapeople.com/i/2009/3/12653_s.jpg
    (yes, only on page 4, still…)

    And upon further reading, on page 9, the French guy is called “Mr Leon”, which is the name of the main character, played by Jean Reno, in one of his most famous film, Léon (aka The Professional) : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Léon_(film)

    Do you think it’s a coincidence ? I don’t :p

    Bonus : I found a simple definition of Gaullism just for you !
    * In French :
    Gaullisme : si l’on devait définir le gaullisme en fonction d’une invariante, ce serait l’exaltation de cette « certaine idée de la France » dont le général de Gaulle s’est fait le promoteur et le défenseur tout au long de sa vie. Au cœur du gaullisme réside l’idée de grandeur nationale et de rassemblement de la nation souveraine derrière un Etat fort dirigé par un chef issu du suffrage universel et respectueux des libertés fondamentales.

    * In english :
    Gaullism : if we were to define gaullism according to an invariant, it would be the praise of a “certain idea of France”, of which the general De Gaulle was a promoter and defender throughout his life. At the heart of gaullism is the idea of national greatness and assembling of the sovereign nation under the banner of a strong state directed by a leader elected by universal suffrage and respectful of fundamental freedoms.

  5. Ravager 102
    May 28, 2010 at 8:46 am

    Thanks so much for another awesome chapter. This is one of my favorite mangas and is always a pleasure to read. Keep up the great work!

  6. static
    May 29, 2010 at 12:32 am

    arigato! ^_^ thank you so much for scanlating the latest chapter. i thought you were kind of done with the series. i really appreciate this. i love seinen manga. my friends who read shonen are always like “why do you read seinen? nothing happens!” but thats exactly why i like it. american comics are the same way for me, i love the desert peach by donna barr, and all of the eight ball books by daniel clowes. i love illustrated stories about a fantastic real life, where even though no one wields a giant sword, intriguing and awesome things still happen. thank you for bringing this to us! you are the best! (^_^)/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

