Home > Bartender > Bartender Chapter 25 – A Lady’s Spirit

Bartender Chapter 25 – A Lady’s Spirit

Hi All, I’m back from my vacation, and here’s chapter 25.  HeckoX translated chapter 24 while I was gone, so hopefully this wait wasn’t too unbearable.

Links:

MangaHelpers

OneManga

Megauploads

Drink of the Day:

Caipirinha

  • 2 oz Cachaca
  • A couple of Limes
  • 2 tsp sugar

Thoughts (Spoiler Alert):

This is a continuation of the previous chapter (although it is named differently), Kitagata who is Sasakura’s senior, pays him a surprise visit at Bar Saito. He brings the lady Sasakura met at his bar with her, and basically wants to see what Sasakura can do. I really like these few chapters because it finally gave us a chance to look at Sasakura’s past.  We all know that he was in France prior to returning to Japan, but we had no idea what was going on with his life before (aside from the fact that his dad is a politician).

This chapter also brought into question what it really means to work in a service industry.  Sasakura’s master says that Bartending is not a career but a lifestyle, but I think this is something that can be applied to other jobs as well.  It is about commitment, and how much someone wants to put into his/her work.  I know I don’t have that kind of determination, but in order for someone to excel, I think that kind of mindset is necessary.  You can’t possibly serve someone wholeheartedly if your attitude does not resonate with your actions.

Question of the Day:

It is commendable when someone chooses to live a lifestyle that fits their work, but is that going too far?  There are other things in life that needs a person’s attention, and I personally do not think it is wise to be a workaholic.  So I guess the question I have is whether it is a good thing someone chooses a lifestyle to fit his working needs.  Of course there are pros and cons on each side, and the answer is inevitably subjective, but nevertheless, it is good food for thought.

Categories: Bartender
  1. Thomas
    March 26, 2010 at 1:23 pm
  2. Baroona
    March 26, 2010 at 1:52 pm

    sweet.. thanks..

    hope you had a good trip

  3. Anonymous
    March 26, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    *thumbs up* thanks again for the good work.

  4. Jennifer
    March 26, 2010 at 4:27 pm

    Thank you! 🙂

  5. Thiago
    March 26, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    I’m from Brazil and never expected to see caipirinha here! Nice surprise! Congratulations from Brazil, you do a nice scanlation and I loved this one.

  6. Xian
    March 26, 2010 at 5:53 pm

    Thanks for sharing and for your scanlations! Keep up the great work, it’s much appreciated!

  7. Alex
    March 26, 2010 at 6:20 pm

    I love your ‘question of the day’. Very thoughtful, very insightful. You’re doing a wonderful job here, I recommended your site to all my friends and they are loving it also. Keep up the good work.

  8. ndqanh_vn
    March 26, 2010 at 7:14 pm

    Thank you a lot. I’m so glad to see Bartender again. It’s very interesting that I have to do some research about Brazil now for my project…

  9. Grimmer
    March 27, 2010 at 7:51 am

    CLIFFHANGER!!!! :p too much excitement.

  10. Darci
    March 27, 2010 at 4:32 pm

    Great chapter! Regarding the question, in the business world a lot of people start their careers as ethical people, and then because of various forces such as rationalizing and social pressures/incentives they get used to behaving unethically, at least at work. One article I read said that the culture at law firms is so pervasive that it actually affects lawyers’ personalities and personal lives. At law firms status is determined by income and hours billed, which encourages working too much and prioritizing status symbols, at the expense of relationships. However, another article mentioned that most people involved in big business scandals like Enron are upstanding people outside of work. Sasakura’s position is kind of unique, identifying the lifestyle required by his job and then adopting it. Usually I think you either end up with a job because it fits your personality/lifestyle, or you change without realizing it.

  11. a
    April 16, 2010 at 10:08 am

    it’s been a long time since we had news from you, is everything okay ?

  12. Xin
    April 18, 2010 at 9:43 pm

    I’m assuming CityShrimp is in a post secondary institution. Therefore, similar to myself, is being overwhelmed with studying for the finals.

    Under that assumption, GOOD LUCK!! and I can’t wait until your next upload of this manga. It is my absolute favourite being a part time bartender myself.

  13. April 26, 2010 at 9:52 am

    Sorry for the lack of updates everyone. But I’ve been busy with some personal matters. I should have something up this week 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

