Home > Bartender > Bartender Chapter 23 – Menu of the Heart

Bartender Chapter 23 – Menu of the Heart

This chapter took longer than most, since it is by far the hardest chapter of Bartender I have translated.  There are not only lots of facts that was hard to verify through English google, but also some difficult sentences for me translate correctly.  In fact, even after spending so much time, I still don’t think my translation is up to standards, but this is really the best I can do after a week of trying.

Links:

MangaHelpers

OneManga

Megaupload

Drink of the Day:

Whiskey Highball

  • 2 oz Whiskey
  • Filled with Carbonated Water

Thoughts (Spoiler Alert!):

Finally! Another story with Miwa!  In this chapter, we get to see more of Miwa and her grandfather, and also backgrounds into her family. Miwa’s father and grandfather got into an argument 25 years ago, and just as they were going to reconcile, Miwa screwed things up.  She broke the bottle that her father prepared for the occasion.  To make up for her mistakes, she asks Sasakura to help her find out what exactly was the bottle she broke.  So Sasakura is again playing detective, and figuring out what was the alcohol Miwa’s father prepared.  This chapter was unusual in that it did not talk about any cocktails at all; instead, it referenced several brands of Whiskey, both European and Japanese.  I’m a fan of Whiskey and Scotch, but I don’t have much exposure to the higher-end stuff, nor did I even know that there is a Japanese Whiskey, so I really don’t know the difference in taste.  But after reading this chapter, I really want to try Suntory’s Whiskey and see how it tastes.

Question of the Day:

One thing that also piqued my curiosity is that bar’s normally do not show it’s customer a drink menu.  I’m not sure if the author added this bit into the chapter to move the story along, or is this actually true.  I never been to Japan, so I don’t know how bars there operate, but from reading Kami no Shizuku (manga on wine), it seems bars DO regularly provide it’s customer with a drink menu.  If anyone have any information regarding this point, please say something about it in the comments.  Thanks in advanced

Categories: Bartender
  1. JePiNaY
    March 4, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    Thanks for the chapter! ^^

  2. Thomas
    March 5, 2010 at 12:57 am
  3. Leela
    March 5, 2010 at 3:05 am

    Thanks for the chapter.
    I don’t know about Japan, but in the American bars they don’t have a full cocktail menu. If there is one, it’s just for their “signature” cocktails (twists on classics or completely original mixes), they pretty much just expect you to know the name of the cocktail you want.

  4. A.
    March 5, 2010 at 3:44 am

    I think this chapter was adapted in the first or second episode of the anime series.
    I found it odd, by the way, to start with this story and not follow the manga.

  5. Grimmer
    March 5, 2010 at 4:39 am

    Thanks for releasing this chapter!
    Though frankly, ‘twice up’ sounds more like a recipe for ruining a fine scotch than a way to enjoy it to its fullest lol.

    You should be able to buy japanese whisky in your local supermarket. I’ve seen a couple of those bottles and I live nowhere near Japan :p It seems rather unnecessary though…you could just as well get a slightly more authentic brand. Anyway, it should be easy to spot one of those bottles, they have got big-ass kanji letters on the label.

    In case you need any suggestions for a good single malt brand:
    Macallan
    Glenkinchie
    Laphroaig (personal favourite :p)
    Talisker
    Oban

    I too find it remarkable that they totally changed the timeline in the anime…not to mention that the lead character operates in a completely different environment…the anime made some massive (and frankly quite unnecessary) changes…perhaps the mangaka didn’t want the two to be identical?

  6. Grimmer
    March 5, 2010 at 5:00 am

    Considering the ‘this is an old bottle from a premium era’
    I’m no translator in any way, but perhaps the word that was translated as ‘era’ could also have been translated as ‘line’ or something similar, hinting a series of bottles made of that particular brand? A premium (or super-premium) bottle merely implies that it’s of superior quality compared to the regular standard.

    • March 5, 2010 at 8:43 am

      Unfortunately, reading the sentence in both Japanese and Chinese, the word used clearly means “era”, so it should mean either 1) it was made in a premium year, or 2) it’s been kept for a certain number of years that made it premium

      • Grimmer
        March 5, 2010 at 9:15 am

        In that case it’s probably the former, since whisky doesn’t age.

  7. March 5, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    *Disagrees with Grimmer*
    Whiskey does age. In fact, a vast majority (though obviously not all) of whiskey are aged before they are bottled, some even up to +20 years. I think the Suntory Kakubin is aged 12 years, but I can’t say for sure anymore.

    Anyway, from what I know, when Sasakura says 特級表示の時代 , he is refering to the period from the 1950s to the 1980s, which was apparently called the “golden age” of whiskey in Japan since so many ordered Whiskey Highballs.

    • March 5, 2010 at 2:39 pm

      Hi Hecko,
      Thanks for your take on the aging of whiskey. I was actually also under the impression that Whiskey ages, since Chivas, the only whiskey I have some knowledge of, comes in 12 or 18 year. But I believe the aging occurs when it’s still in the oak barrels. So maybe Grimmer is saying that Whiskey doesn’t age after it’s bottled?

      • March 5, 2010 at 3:32 pm

        Yes, he might’ve, in which case he would’ve been right; whiskeys only age in the time between being distilled and until they are bottled (i.e. during the time they are in a cask). After they are bottled, they stop maturing.

        P.S. Respect on the one-man scanlating; I tried scanlating Bartender 24 as a “one-time for the lulz”-thing, so it’s not like I want to compete or anything… I just like the series and read you were leaving for vacation anyway. I’ve always wanted to try it out, and it’s a LOT harder than it seems O.o After half a day, I only have like 4 pages done, all of which we pretty low on text.

      • March 5, 2010 at 9:56 pm

        Hahaha. Yeah, when I first started, that’s how I felt too. I thought at least the translation shouldn’t prove to be too much problem (cleaning, editing really aren’t my thing), but to translate from one language to another and keep it coherent with a good flow is pretty time consuming. I do encourage you to keep trying though. The more translators in this community, the more mangas that will be scanlated, and the more benefits we all get 😀

      • March 6, 2010 at 6:46 pm

        Haha, yeah, compared to translating, stuff like typesetting is waaaaay easier XD

        I think I’ve been off more than I can chew with translating the chapter though, so it’s doubtful that I’ll ever try something like this again.

      • Grimmer
        March 6, 2010 at 12:22 am

        Yeh, was referring to aging after it’s bottled (else the labels wouldn’t mention 12 year, 16 year,… :p)

        Anyway, lots of love to ya for the scanlating.

  8. ndqanh_vn
    March 5, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    Finally, Miwa appeared again. I know that Bartender is not a romantic manga but I always like the ideal of them being a couple, even in the anime. :”>

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

