Home > Bartender, News > Next Project: Bartender

Next Project: Bartender

Starting next week, I will begin to scanlate Bartender, a manga which talks about… well, bartenders and drinks.  I know some people will be disappointed that I did not go with One Outs or Kurosagi, but I have my reasons.

One Outs is a great manga, I actually already read through the whole thing in Chinese, but compared to Liar Game, it really feels unpolished and honestly baseball isn’t my forte.  Furthermore, I want to scanlate a manga that’s still on-going.

Kurosagi is also an interesting read, and it is also very psychological like Liar Game.  However, it concentrates on laws and regulations which are extremely difficult to translate.  I do not believe I have enough expertise in terms of language to do a good job.

Other considerations include Fist of the North Star (You’re already dead!) and GodHand Teru.

But in the end, I chose Bartender because it is a relaxing read.  Though the story is sometimes dramatic, and the subject is quite serious, it doesn’t take too much brainpower to understand everything.  I’ve heard comments that the author did not consult experts in the fields of bartending or alcohol, but most of the cocktails are real, and some are great to try (I tried Black Velvet and it taste pretty darn good).  It is also an on-going manga, which is a plus for me.

And to those who worry that the original scanlator will be infuriated that I took their series, I’ve already did my homework.  I went to DATS’s blog, and they are officially “dead, dead, dead”.  So this is an abandoned project, which I will pick up.

Categories: Bartender, News
  1. Seikuken
    January 29, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    Are you sure that Watercrown is gonna scanlate Liar Game? It seems he has stopped. Aww man u’ve done a great job translating LG. really sucks to see u let it go

  2. Frank
    January 29, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    Please do not stop scantalating Liar Game. Watercrown has not done chapter 99 and if he doesn’t, who will? 😦

    • January 30, 2010 at 12:04 am

      Well, here’s Watercrown’s website: http://theryusui.110mb.com/
      Ryusui stated that he has finished chapter 99, it just needs to be looked over first. So no worries, someone is definitely working on Liar Game.

  3. Irankoa
    January 30, 2010 at 3:29 am

    I’m pretty disappointed, BUT I think If you really like this manga and it’ll be good for you to scannlated this I’m by your side and maybe with your scan I’ll like it too. I want say for 100 times thank you for hard work on LG and to be original I’ll write it in my national language – Polish – DZIĘKUJĘ 🙂 – without you I think I’d lost my love for it like I do when it comes to Kurosagi…

    I’m looking forward for your translation and wish all good for you.

    Your great!!

  4. Ikirtar
    January 30, 2010 at 9:35 am

    Well, you probably chose this manga because it’s a good one ^^. I’ll read it to see if I like it :p. New can be good.
    (Too bad you didn’t take One Outs though).

  5. jeffry
    January 30, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    hey i have a question im really into manga like liar game and death note, im really disspointed because you stopped translating it but i wonder if you know of any manga that are psychological like liar game and death note i love mangas that make me think like those two, will you be so kind to send me a list of those manga if possible

    thanks

  6. charmaine
    January 30, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    thank you for scanlating liar game for that period (: i really appreciate it. it’s kinda sad that some newbies just jump on an active scanlation, but it really surprised me that you let them.

    i look forward to bartender

  7. hato
    January 30, 2010 at 7:20 pm

    looking forward to it. I always enjoyed your Liar Game commentary.

  8. animestellar
    January 30, 2010 at 9:39 pm

    I look forward to seeing Bartender manga scanlated. I really liked the anime.

  9. Demel
    February 1, 2010 at 6:24 pm

    Hey,

    I was actually someone who was interested in scanlating Bartender but haven’t really gotten around to it coz I was unaware of the cleanup process and the like.

    How far are you intending to translate Bartender? As far as I know there’re 12 volumes out in Jap, 10 in Chinese and barely over two in scanlations. This is gonna be a long project lol.

  10. Mark
    February 6, 2010 at 8:12 am

    Thanks for continuing the scanlation of Bartender! 😀

  11. Julia
    February 6, 2010 at 9:05 am

    Just wanted to say a very big thank you for scanlating Bartender, I have really enjoyed it and am glad that it is receiving revived attention. I hope that you will continue to scanlate them.

  12. Hollow Barista
    November 12, 2011 at 3:58 pm

    Thank you.
    Shame you did not translate earlier ones. I love it how a relase of translation launches off a discussion as to chilean cheese versus whiskey and so. I would have loved to read peoples thoughts about story number 5 Cinderella.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

