Home > Liar Game > Liar Game Chapter 97 – Trust

Liar Game Chapter 97 – Trust

Excuse of the week: been busy at work.  Sorry for the slow release, I don’t know if I can ever get back to the same pace I had before seeing that I’m getting lazier and lazier.  I’m just hoping to stay with it at this point.

Links:

MangaHelpers

OneManga

MangaFox

MangaHut

Thoughts:

Not much happened this chapter.  Four Eyes told his side of the story, and the author tried to get us all to cry like Nao.  But no, that ain’t happening.  What we want is story development.  Thankfully, this intermission is shorter than most other mangas (e.g. One Piece).  It only lasted for about 7 pages, and we can all get back to Liar Game.  The only “logic” to discuss this chapter is Akiyama’s assessment that Four Eyes is Normal.  And I agree with what he said.  I believe the chances of him being Normal is definitely a lot higher than that of Infected, but it’s not 100%.  Also, it’s nice to know that Nao is conscientious enough to understand she’s not someone worth helping out.  I’m still hoping she will become more clever as the manga continues.  For example, in one of the later rounds, she’s the only one who can see through a certain trick because she is so innocent, etc. etc.  But it’ll be a while before that’s even possible.

So now the only question is, what can Akiyama do at this point to pull more allies?  It seems simple enough to me since they have 4 in their group now so anyone who decides to join them can instantly win.  The only reason why they would hesitate is whether Akiyama and friends are willing to do that.

Categories: Liar Game
  1. Poochi
    January 14, 2010 at 5:14 pm

    Thank you

  2. Doom
    January 14, 2010 at 5:50 pm

    Thanks. I think if you continue releasing at this pace of ~ 1 a week, it’s good enough. Good luck.

  3. RyanXero
    January 14, 2010 at 6:41 pm

    As always, thank you so much!

  4. Soress
    January 14, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    Thanks again for another chapter!

  5. January 14, 2010 at 8:51 pm

    Are you sure you don’t need a better editor than, you know, [i]yourself?[/i]

    I’ll concede that you’re the faster, more efficient translator, but your actual scripts for your scanslations are somewhat…[i]lacking.[/i] If I had to pay $10 a volume for translations like yours, I’d be raising hell at the perpetrators. There’s punctuation missing, the grammar is spotty and the character dialogue is stilted and awkward. I love this manga, but your translation [i]hurts to read.[/i]

    Yes, I’m offering you my services as an editor. If you’ll do your research, you’ll find that I have quite a resume under my belt – namely, [i]the Breath of Fire 2 retranslation[/i]. Check it out yourself. The eye candy is the work of the guy behind the original German version of the project, but the script and some less-visible but no less crucial hacking tweaks were my work. My version features a professional, commercial-quality translation. Compare to the infamous old version (available on Virtual Console): there’s punctuation missing, the grammar is spotty and the character dialogue is stilted and awkward…sound familiar?

    • January 15, 2010 at 8:00 am

      lol thanks for comments. But like I have been saying since I started this project, I’m only doing this as a hobby. I don’t expect everyone to like it, and I don’t expect everyone to even find it acceptable. And thanks for offering your help, but regrettably, I have to decline. I don’t want to be tied down by schedules or commitments. Initially, I was unsure whether I want to form a team, but now I’m certain that working solo is more suitable for me. There’s only one person who’s helping me proofread and I don’t always go to him either.

  6. Irankoa
    January 15, 2010 at 3:02 am

    I think that your translation is good and it has a lot of climat of this manga and with this chapter I have got tears in my eyes. Really.
    I’m really happy that was conversation between Akiyama and Nao – I love this moments out of the game- warmfeelings – this is small hint for this pairing 🙂

    Thank you for your work and pace is good 1 chap. for a week.

  7. Mimione
    January 15, 2010 at 3:56 am

    Thank you so much !!! =)

  8. some_guy
    January 15, 2010 at 8:42 am

    Cant wait for the next chapter. It would interesting to see where they would get their one extra person from. After all of yokoya’s group contact their shouldn’t be any infected people left if theres one more break left (its been long i dont know how many rounds ahs past) at least akiyama could show everyone theres no infected people with that screen- then it might be possible to get those two that quit to just contact glasses and nao. Theres no risk for them, but they still might not. I think after akiyama expains all of these facts and nao makes some ‘work together’ speech they would get those two that quit. Or they might promise them money to contact.

  9. BP+2
    January 15, 2010 at 1:01 pm

    I really do like Kaitani’s side-stories :3

    Anyway, people might not really believe that they’d do it for them, but they should still be able to use logic to prove it. So what if Akagi was actually normal? That means there is no way to trick them, since they are all normal and not infected.

    The one thing I’m disappointed about is it doesn’t seem like anything has happened that will cause a twist with the graph showing the number of normal and infected people. Heck, it’ll help Akiyama’s group by proving that Akagi didn’t lie about being infected.

  10. Mitsuki
    January 16, 2010 at 12:20 pm

    Laziness…
    Is so contagious isn’t it? >.<
    And once you start feeling lazy is so hard to make yourself snap out of it

    <— Part of some other small group translating some other manga

    Thank you for the release!

  11. Oneiropolos
    January 16, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    Hah, sorry, had to laugh at someone saying your translations were ‘lacking’. I’m loving your releases, and if there’s a grammatical slip or typo here or there, pfft. Who cares? The fact is you’re bringing us an awesome manga and I love getting to read your commentary on each chapter. You are the only scanlator I bother to look up after each chapter to see what they say about it. They’re a mini-analysis and that’s what makes a series like this so -fun-. As someone who did scanlations before and knows you probably get more whiners than praise, here’s praise and a huge thank you from me. 🙂

    Also, on your point concerning her not being clever enough… I think she actually IS. She’s not -cunning-. There’s the difference. She deduced a bit back that if they keep playing and saving the losers, that ‘defeats’ the Liar Game. The reaction of the corporation people almost seemed to indicate she was correct (while staying vague enough not to tell us directly) that the Liar Game isn’t actually about who is the best liar, swindler, and bluffer. It’s about who can form the bonds of trust and stand on top because they truly had good intentions all the while. That’s why she, unlike alot of female protagonists (being female myself), actually doesn’t bug me like I feared she would when I started reading the series. I feel like this is a situation where her actual strength comes from the fact she’s not ‘strong’ in much except her heart. Take Gamblefish as the extreme opposite of this, where I still kinda hate the main character despite them both being bluff.

  12. January 17, 2010 at 12:18 am

    It’s amazing how far Nao’s come since the beginning. She actually got Fukunaga to help her execute a scheme so devious that even Akiyama was fooled. And before that, she even managed to needle Yokoya into staying in the game. XD

    I think Nao is on the right track about the Liar Game; not just how to beat it, but its true purpose. If the LGT was truly as diabolical as they’ve led us to believe, the games would be rigged to ensure there would be no easy ways out – they’d be engineered so that “dog-eat-dog” would be the only winning strategy. And they’ve never complained about Akiyama and Nao using their winnings to bail out the other players.

    Furthermore, I find it telling that the players are forbidden to know what happens to the losers. We’re made to understand that they will shoulder a crushing debt, which the LGT will reclaim “by any means possible”: we assume they mean something cruel, amoral and illegal, such as human trafficking or organ trading, but the bottom line is, they could be just handing out lollipops and sending the losers on their way for all we know: as long as there is the threat of a fate worse than death, the players will continue to act based on that assumption.

    I think the true nature of the Liar Game is to find someone like Nao – or perhaps more accurately, to create someone like her. The idealist triumphant – someone who can believe unwaveringly in the goodness of humankind and act on that assumption, but tempered with the wisdom and experience required to turn that vision into reality.

    If you want my two cents, the very last round of the Liar Game is going to pit Nao and Yokoya versus one another, and Yokoya – once again – will compromise his principles for victory. And this, in turn, will be Nao’s final triumph: in the end, however convinced he may be that he is the ubermensch, Yokoya is just as corruptible as the “mice” he believes he has absolute control over. And the LGT will tell him to his face that someone like him can never win.

    It will be so satisfying to see that bastard crumple. XD

    • Oneiropolos
      January 18, 2010 at 6:26 pm

      Excellent points, Ryusui. I really do think it’s easy to forget how intelligent Nao is because it’s underplayed so much. She’s surrounded by cunning, devious conmen. Of course she is going to look like something ‘less’ in that setting, but you were right abotu the scheme with Fukunaga and her goadin Yokoya. Akiyama was shaken at that point, and Nao’s words, though perhaps naive and idealistic, were what gave him strength. I loved that about that scene. And I had -never- considered the whole ‘what will happen to the losers’ thing more in depth. You’re right in that LGT could, in fact, be creating a lie of omission in order to keep the pressure of the game going. 🙂

  13. January 17, 2010 at 3:41 am

    Personally I overlook the grammatical errors or whatever in favor of what is actually HAPPENING. So long as I get what’s happening, I’m A-OK.

    Thankyou, thankyou, thankyou 🙂 You’re awesome (Y)

  14. some_guy
    January 17, 2010 at 3:34 pm

    I actually thought your translation were great, since the concepts in liar game are quite hard to understand without some thought. It seems people are talking about grammar. I couldnt care less about grammar since i stopped doing english as a subject in school. The fact that its not broken-english and that i can understand whats going makes it great translations. Thanks for all the hard work, if only there was some way i/we could motivate you.

  15. Callie
    January 18, 2010 at 7:35 am

    Thank you for this release!
    I really hope you’ll continue to do Liar Game, seeing as how Null has literally dropped it. But of course, if you decide to stop, that’s your choice.
    Thanks again, and keep up the good work for as long as you are able!

  16. jimjim
    January 21, 2010 at 5:30 am

    DON’T STOP SCANLATING! WE LOVE YOUR WORK! YOU ARE TEH MOST AMAZINGEST SCANLATOR! WE ARE YOUR FANS! ^3^

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

