Home > Uncategorized > I Need to Clean the Raws!? O_o

I Need to Clean the Raws!? O_o

Ok… So I just~~ found that the raws provided on MangaHelper and other websites require at least some level of cleaning prior to typesetting… I was under the impression that raws were uploaded AFTER they have been properly cleaned, but I guess that’s not the case.  And that should explain why Chapter 86 and 87 turned out bad in quality.  I will go read up on some tutorials on cleaning and typesetting so my scans will be of higher quality.

That said, if anyone know of any good beginner tutorials for cleaning and typesetting, please let me know.

Thanks in advance!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Vin
    October 30, 2009 at 6:40 pm

    This page has great tutorials:

    http://senbonzakura.kageyoshi.net/

    Thanks for the new LG chaps btw! Hope to see more soon!

    加油!加油! 🙂

    • October 30, 2009 at 6:53 pm

      Thanks! I’ll take a look and hopefully I can start producing better quality work. 🙂

  2. manoel
    October 30, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    thanks for the scans!
    I was wondering why didnt you make the chapter 65 and went to 66 instead since anyone has done the chapter 65 yer.

  3. BP
    October 30, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    Someone else posted an offer somewhere here to team up, where you would translate and they would do other stuff. Maybe do that instead, so you don’t need to learn to typeset and clean and all that.

    • October 30, 2009 at 10:35 pm

      Yes, I saw the invitation. That’s actually why I wrote this post. I’m scanlating as a hobby, so I’m interested in learning every facet of this art. It’s definitely far more work than I ever expected to perform a high quality cleaning/editing, but I think I will stick to this for now, since I don’t want to tie myself down with a group when I just started.

  4. Jun
    October 31, 2009 at 3:53 am

    I just finished reading Liar Game 86 & 87! Loved them! Thank you for the hard work! You have no idea how big a favor you’re doing us (readers)!

  5. azrez
    October 31, 2009 at 10:44 am

    Actually I’d rather prefer speed over quality. Keep up the good work!

  6. Layered
    October 31, 2009 at 2:18 pm

    hey if u dont mind extra help with cleaning, i can always give u a hand, just pm me on MH with the same nick.

  7. LG Lover
    October 31, 2009 at 6:19 pm

    Thank you so much for LG 86+87.

    null took too long.

    I didn’t even notice a quality difference.

    YOU ROCK

  8. October 31, 2009 at 11:02 pm

    Wild Words is the most popular font to use in scans.
    http://www.questie.com/manga/ScanEditGuide/wildwords.zip
    Thought bubbles are mostly used by Wild Words Italics
    gimp.org is not working right now but I like their software.
    Instead of left justified use center, it will help fitting the font in.

    • November 1, 2009 at 9:47 am

      I’ve actually been using gimp, since I don’t want to spend money on Photoshop. I’ll take a look at Wild Words font. I’m planning to use Anime Ace 2 from now on, but maybe Wild Words will be more suitable. Thanks for all the support!

  9. Saisaishi
    November 1, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    Thanks for translating LG!
    I’d personally also rather see the chapters bust out faster, over cleaning, and I didn’t really even think of it when I was reading the chapters.

  10. TropicalMist
    November 1, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    Thanks for scanlating chapters 86 and 87 =)
    I’ve been waiting forever for them and you did a good job! Even if the quality is a little down, I prefer having something to read rather than nothing lol =P
    If you ever want help in your little project, just let me know! I’ve been meaning to try scanlating too although I can’t do the translating part haha =X

  11. Audy
    November 1, 2009 at 9:17 pm

    Thanks so much for the scans. I really appreciate your hard work and I know that scanlating must be real difficult, but I have to say that I, like the others, didn’t notice a quality difference at all! 🙂

    Liar Game is one of my favorite mangas and it upsets me how there are 100+ chapters out, and yet no regular scans. I think the series would be more popular if there were regular releases, but I also understand the difficulties and compromises that are involved in that.

    So I just wanna say, thanks for taking the initiative! These last two chapters actually made my day ^^

  12. Alsn
    November 1, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    Thanks a bunch for scanlating Liar game! Been anxiously anticipating someone picking it up and here you are! Again, many thanks! Also, try using the .png format in the future. It is waaaaay superior to jpg when dealing with black and white pictures and roughly equal in size.

    • November 2, 2009 at 12:29 am

      Cool. I’ll give that a try. Thanks for the advice!

  13. ehpsv
    November 18, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    When I first started I also didn’t know you had to clean and such, so you’re not the only one ^^

    Anyway, I have used these sites to help me out in editing:

    http://www.unblessed.net/guide/main.html

    http://www.ruinevil.com/rawr/editguide/index.html

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

